Sn0 Forest’s Vault: Episode 1

Hello everyone and shoutout to those of you that still read and keep up with this blog. Today I’ve decided to start a new series alongside my Best of Soundcloud articles where I will be showing you guys some of my favourite albums and EP’s of all time, crossing many different genres. I want to do this not only to show you guys some cool music, but also so that you guys can see where I draw most of my inspiration from with my music. By the way I am working on a new best of Soundcloud for this week so keep an eye out for that.

John B – In:Transit / Future Refrence (DnB)

John B is quite possibly one of my favourite artists to this day. He is a British drum and bass producer who has been around since the 90s. However, what sets him apart from most on the scene is that his DnB tends to take influence from many different genres of music such as trance, jazz and synthpop. I like most of John B’s work, but Future Reference is probably my most played album of his and if you take a listen for yourself you can see why. Future Reference shows off John B’s variety of styles when it comes to DnB. “Forever” is a soft, alluring liquid DnB track with vocals and synths that can easily put you in a trance. On the other hand, “Show Me The Way” is a dark and aggressive track that still keeps a light overtone through the use of the vocal sample. “B Mine (Remix)” is a pretty unique jazzy DnB track that’s led by a saxophone, followed by a pulsing synth section for some contrast.

His album In:Transit deserves a worthy mention too. “Mercury Skies” is a smooth vocal DnB track with a pretty epic build up, while “Sight beyond” is an ode to the classic dark rolling DnB sound that came from the 90s. “Broken Language” is a dance floor slammer that has a nice vocal break followed by choppy baselines and big drums.

She – Chiptune Memories

a0410114894_10

She is a chiptune electronica artist from Sweden. I first heard his album “Chiptek” and ever since then, I’ve been hooked to his nostalgic 8 bit sound. Chiptune Memories was released last year and is my favourite project of his to date. The whole album has a classic pop vibe to it whilst retaining its 8 bit chiptune sound. “Chiptune Memories” is a rather catchy track that to me, crosses elements of early 2000 Brittany Spears esque pop with an 8 bit, eurobeat influenced instrumental. Soft and alluring, “Nostalgic Vibes” brings the pace down a little. Only this time around She brings us a modern synthwave sound that’s drenched with his signature chiptune spirit.

The whole project features sounds created from the Nintendo Gameboy, NES and Sega FM Chip as well as synthesizers such as the Yamaha DX7. The album can be streamed for free on Spotify:

As always, thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy this post!

Leave a Reply

